Instagram limits in 2026: every published cap, in one place

Instagram publishes a handful of hard caps (a 150-character bio, five hashtags on a post, 7,500 accounts you can follow) and stays silent on the rest. This page collects every number Instagram states on its help pages, developer documentation and announcements, quotes the wording, links the source, and names the limits it does not publish rather than borrowing a guess.

Paste a username, bio or caption into the checker and it counts characters, hashtags and @mentions against the published caps as you type. Everything runs in your browser; nothing you paste is stored or sent anywhere. Every figure was re-read on 3 September 2026; Instagram changes these quietly, so the date matters as much as the number.

Every limit Instagram publishes

Read from Instagram's own help pages and announcements on 3 September 2026.

LimitValueApplies toNoteSource
Bio length150 charactersProfile bioHelp page: "You can write a bio of up to 150 characters on your Instagram profile."Instagram Help Center
Username length30 charactersUsernameNot stated on Instagram's help pages; consistently documented by third parties as "up to 30 characters".Third-party documentation
Caption length2,200 charactersPost and Reel captionsNot on the help pages; Meta's developer documentation states "Maximum 2200 characters, 30 hashtags, and 20 @ tags" (the hashtag figure is stale).Meta API documentation
Hashtags5 per post or ReelPost and Reel captionsHelp page: "You can use up to 5 tags on a post"; announced by @creators on 18 December 2025 ("up to 5 hashtags in a reel or post"). It was 30 until then.Instagram Help Center
@mentions in a caption20Post and Reel captionsNot on the help pages; the same developer documentation caps a caption at "20 @ tags".Meta API documentation
@mentions in a comment5CommentsHelp page: "You can't include more than five @ mentions in a single comment."Instagram Help Center
Links in bio5 websitesProfileHelp page: "You can add up to five websites to your Instagram profile."Instagram Help Center
Carousel slides20 photos and/or videosFeed postsHelp page: "You can share a post with up to 20 photos and videos as a single post"; no per-slide video length is published for a carousel.Instagram Help Center
Reels recording length20 minutesReelsHelp page: "You can record and edit videos up to 20 minutes with Instagram Reels", but Reels "over 3 minutes won't be recommended to new audiences".Instagram Help Center
Stories60-second clips · 24 hoursStoriesHelp page: a video "up to 60 seconds long" appears "as one clip"; stories "disappear from your profile, feed and Direct inbox after 24 hours".Instagram Help Center
Notes60 characters · 24 hours · one at a timeNotesHelp page: "Enter a note of up to 60 characters". A note shows "for up to 24 hours", and "You can share up to 1 note".Instagram Help Center
Accounts you can follow7,500FollowingHelp page: "To help reduce spam, Instagram doesn't allow anyone to follow more than 7,500 people."Instagram Help Center
Collaborators on a post5Collab postsHelp page: "You can add up to five collaborators to your post"; collab posts on Reels take "multiple collaborators".Instagram Help Center
Pinned posts3Profile gridHelp page: "You can pin up to three posts that you've shared on Instagram to the top of your profile" (pinned posts).Instagram Help Center
Accounts logged in at once10App loginHelp page: "you can have up to ten accounts logged in at one time". The old figure of five is out of date.Instagram Help Center
Broadcast channelsPublic account · more than 1,000 followersBroadcast channelsHelp page: "Channels can be started by a public account with more than 1,000 followers"; no member cap is published for channels.Instagram Help Center
Going LivePublic account · 1,000+ followersInstagram LiveHelp page: "Only Instagram users who have a public account with 1,000 followers or more will be able to start a live broadcast". Off by default for Teen Accounts.Instagram Help Center
Live guests3Instagram LiveHelp page: "You can invite up to three guests to join your Live using Live Rooms". Guests "must be following the broadcaster".Instagram Help Center
Live scheduling window1 hour to 90 days aheadInstagram LiveHelp page: "You can schedule a live broadcast anywhere from 1 hour in advance to up to 90 days in advance".Instagram Help Center
Group chat size250 peopleDirect messagesHelp page: "Most group conversations on Instagram can include up to 250 people."Instagram Help Center
Message forwarding5 chats at a timeDirect messagesHelp page: "you can only forward a message to up to five chats at a time."Instagram Help Center
Scheduled posts25 a day · 30 days aheadIn-app schedulingHelp page: "You can schedule up to 25 posts a day, up to 30 days in advance" (public accounts only).Instagram Help Center
Photo width and ratio1,080 px wide · 1.91:1 to 3:4Photo uploadsHelp page: "up to a width of 1,080 pixels", full resolution when the "aspect ratio is between 1.91:1 and 3:4"; the old 4:5 is out of date.Instagram Help Center
Minimum age13 (14 or 16 in some places)AccountsHelp page: "Most countries and states require you to be at least 13 years old"; published exceptions: 14 in South Korea, Quebec, Spain and Florida, 16 in Australia.Instagram Help Center

The limits Instagram doesn't publish

Why Instagram publishes some limits and hides the others

The caps in the table are static (a bio is 150 characters whoever you are) and printing them helps nobody game the platform. Pace limits (follows, likes, comments and messages per hour or day) are different: a published threshold is a blueprint for spam, because a spammer simply operates one action under it.

So those limits stay unpublished, vary by account and move without notice; the help pages confirm the mechanism: messaging has "limits in place to stop direct messages that people may not want to get, such as spam", and that is as specific as Instagram gets. The glossary's Instagram limits entry is the short version of this page.

What changed recently, and the folklore that lingers

Most wrong answers online were right once. Hashtags: 30 per post until 18 December 2025, when @creators announced "up to 5 hashtags in a reel or post". Reels: the 3-minute ceiling ended with the camera update announced on 23 November 2025. Recording now runs to 20 minutes, and 3 minutes is only the point past which a Reel "won't be recommended to new audiences".

Live and broadcast channels now both need a public account with 1,000 followers (the Live gate was reported in late July 2025; channels launched in February 2023), and the help pages now say ten logged-in accounts, not five, five collaborators, not three, and 20 carousel slides, not 10, since August 2024.

The rest is folklore with no source: a 14-day username hold (a 2019 test), a 100-character alt-text cap (reported gone in 2021), three-day Notes (a retired feature), a 4:5 grid (now 3:4) and a 10,000-follower channel gate (it is 1,000). Anything not in the table above is somebody's memory.

Working inside the limits Instagram won't publish

The invisible limits test one thing: does this account behave like a person? People act at an uneven pace, browse in between, and sleep; bursts of identical actions at machine-regular intervals look like what they are. So act at a pace you could sustain by hand, vary what you do, ramp up gradually, and never work through a list.

The signal that you have crossed a line is an action blocked message, the cue to stop. Automation trips these limits faster than the same volume by hand because the pattern gives it away, and Instagram's restriction notice names it: "You used an app or service to interact with Instagram in unauthorized ways."

What the checker does, and what it can't

It counts characters the way you typed them (spaces, line breaks and emoji included) against the caps in the table, and in a caption counts every #tag against the five-hashtag cap and every @mention against the 20-mention cap. Nothing leaves your browser.

It cannot know your account's private thresholds, or how Instagram's own counter treats a complex emoji. For judging a caption there is the caption generator; for a reach problem, the shadowban checker.

Growth services and the limits, honestly

Every growth service works inside the same unpublished limits, and the fastest way to find them is to hire someone who ignores them: a service promising a volume of follows, likes or DMs that only automation could deliver is promising to spend your account's trust, and the block lands on you.

Our own growth is run by people at a human pace, scoped to 150–3,000+ followers a month depending on plan: see what steady growth looks like on real accounts with the growth checker, and the plans on the pricing page.

Common questions

How many hashtags can you use on Instagram?

Five per feed post or Reel caption since 18 December 2025 (it was 30 before): "You can use up to 5 tags on a post". Instagram's stated advice with the change was to use "fewer (up to 5) more targeted hashtags, rather than many generic ones". More on the hashtags page.

How many people can you follow on Instagram?

7,500: "To help reduce spam, Instagram doesn't allow anyone to follow more than 7,500 people", and "regardless of how many followers they have".

How many accounts can you follow per day?

Instagram does not say; its only follow figure is the 7,500 total. Any daily number you've read is one observation of one account at one time, because the real thresholds vary per account and move without notice. Follow at a pace you could sustain by hand and ramp up gradually.

What is the Instagram bio character limit?

150 characters: "You can write a bio of up to 150 characters on your Instagram profile." You also get five website links; the username's 30 characters and the display name's length are not stated by Instagram.

How long can Instagram Reels be?

Up to 20 minutes recorded in the app, but "Reels over 3 minutes won't be recommended to new audiences." The app publishes no upload cap; Meta's developer documentation allows API uploads of 15 minutes and 300 MB.

How many links can you put in your Instagram bio?

Five: "You can add up to five websites to your Instagram profile", and "Anyone, on or off Instagram, can see your websites." Multiple links arrived in April 2023: see link in bio.

How many accounts can you log into on Instagram?

Ten: "you can have up to ten accounts logged in at one time", on both versions of the help page; five is out of date.

Does Instagram publish daily like, comment or DM limits?

No. Its only messaging number is the five-chat forwarding cap; otherwise it warns only that you "may not be able to send more direct messages for a period of time." Comments have two published rules (five @mentions, no duplicates) and likes have none.

Keep reading